Home

IndiaWilson

Activity 1: Formats – Starter Exercise

First and foremost, we were given an array of different formats, (namely: wikipedia, book, magazine article, newspaper article, blog post, academic journal article and tweet) and we were  asked to rank them in order of which research formats we would use first. Below is my ranking:

formats

On reflection, I think I always tend to start with the most accessible and superficial formats (i.e. wikipedia, tweets, blog posts). Therefore, I have placed these sources at the top of the list, as I believe them to be often biased and unreliable for use in academic writing. However, I do think they are helpful to use as a starting point. Effectively, I have placed the more reliable sources, such as books, articles and journals further down to demonstrate how, as I get further into the research stage, the content of the research formats seem to go deeper.

View original post 714 more words

Leave a Reply

